Learning and Intelligent OptimizatioN Conference

    Learning and Intelligent OptimizatioN Conference

                              LION 3

                14-18 January, 2009. Trento, Italy

              More details and up-to-date information at

Building on the success of the previous editions we are organizing a new event for January 2009. The LION conference is aimed at exploring the boundaries and uncharted territories between machine learning, artificial intelligence, mathematical programming and algorithms for hard optimization problems. The main purpose of the event is to bring together experts from these areas to discuss new ideas and methods, challenges and opportunities in various application areas, general trends and specific developments.

The conference program will consist of plenary presentations, introductory and advanced tutorials, technical presentations, and it will give ample time for discussions.

Relevant Research Areas

LION 3 solicits contributions dealing with all aspects of learning and intelligent optimization. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

– Stochastic local search methods and meta-heuristics
– Hybridizations of constraint and mathematical programming with
– Supervised, unsupervised and reinforcement learning applied to
heuristic search
– Reactive search (online self-tuning methods)
– Algorithm portfolios and off-line tuning methods
– Algorithms for dynamic, stochastic and multi-objective problems
– Interface(s) between discrete and continuous optimization
– Experimental analysis and modeling of algorithms
– Theoretical foundations
– Parallelization of optimization algorithms
– Memory-based optimization
– Prohibition-based methods (tabu search)
– Memetic algorithms
– Evolutionary algorithms
– Dynamic local search
– Iterated local search
– Variable neighborhood search
– Swarm intelligence methods (ant colony optimization, particle swarm
optimization etc.)

High-quality scientific contributions to these topics are solicited, in
addition to advanced case studies from interesting, high-impact
application areas. We also welcome proposals for advanced tutorial

Submission Details

We will accept submissions in the following formats:

– Original novel and unpublished work for publication in the
  post-conference proceedings (max. 15 pages in Springer LNCS format);

– An extended abstract of work-in-progress or a position statement
(max. 4 pages);

– Manuscripts that have recently been accepted for publication or
appeared within the last 6 months in a peer-reviewed journal or which
are currently under review (only for oral presentation).

Each submission will be evaluated according to its relevance to the
meeting, novelty, technical quality, and presentation.

Extended abstracts of work-in-progress and position statements will
not appear in the post-conference proceedings volume. However, a
limited set of work-in-progress abstracts will be invited for the
submission of a complete paper after the conference, to undergo an
additional review process as for the complete papers above. All
submissions will appear in informal proceedings, to be distributed at
the conference.

The post-conference proceedings will be published by a major
international publisher;
as for LION 2, we expect to publish the proceedings again in Springer’s
Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.

Best Paper Award

A best paper award will be presented at the conference.

Further Information

Up-to-date information will be published on the web site
www.intelligent-optimization.org/LION3. For information about local
arrangements, registration forms, etc., please refer to the
above-mentioned web site or contact the local organizers.

Important Dates

(Strict) submission deadline         15 October, 2008
Notification of acceptance           22 November, 2008
Conference                           14-18 January, 2009
Camera ready for post-proceedings    15 February, 2009

LION 3 Conference Committee

Conference Chair: Bart Selman, Cornell University (USA)
Steering Committee Chair, Local Chair: Roberto Battiti, Univ. of Trento
Technical Program Committee Chair: Thomas Stuetzle, Universite Libre de
Bruxelles (Belgium)

Technical Program Committee

Ethem Alpaydin, Bogazici University (Turkey)
Roberto Battiti, University of Trento (Italy)
Mauro Birattari, Universite Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium)
Christian Blum, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (Spain)
Immanuel Bomze, University of Vienna (Austria)
Andrea Bonarini, Politecnico di Milano (Italy)
Juergen Branke, University of Karlsruhe (Germany)
Carlos Cotta, Universidad de Malaga (Spain)
Karl Doerner, University of Vienna (Austria)
Marco Dorigo, Universite Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium)
Michel Gendreau, Universite de Montreal (Canada)
Carla Gomes, Cornell University (USA)
Marco Gori, University of Siena (Italy)
Walter Gutjahr, University of Vienna (Austria)
Youssef Hamadi, Microsoft Research, Cambridge (UK)
Richard Hartl, University of Vienna (Austria)
Geir Hasle, SINTEF Applied Mathematics (Norway)
Pascal van Hentenryck, Brown University (USA)
Franzisco Herrera, Universidad de Granada (Spain)
Tomio Hirata, Nagoya University (Japan)
Holger Hoos, University of British Columbia (Canada)
Bernardo Huberman, Hewlett – Packard (USA)
Mark Jelasity, University of Szeged (Hungary)
Narendra Jussien, Ecole des Mines de Nantes (France)
Zeynep Kiziltan, University of Bologna (Italy)
Michail G. Lagoudakis, Technical University of Crete (Greece)
Vittorio Maniezzo, Universita di Bologna (Italy)
Elena Marchiori, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (The Nederlands)
Francesco Masulli, Universita degli Studi di Genova (Italy)
Lyle A. McGeoch, Amherst College (USA)
Peter Merz, Technische Universitaet Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Zbigniew Michalewicz, University of Adelaide (Australia)
Nenad Mladenovic, Brunel University, West London (UK)
Pablo Moscato, The University of Newcastle (Australia)
Amiram Moshaiov, Tel-Aviv University (Israel)
Raymond Ng, University of British Columbia (Canada)
Panos Pardalos, University of Florida (USA)
Marcello Pelillo, Universita “Ca’ Foscari” di Venezia (Italy)
Vincenzo Piuri, Universita di Milano (Italy)
Christian Prins, University of Technology of Troyes (France)
Guenther Raidl, Technische Universitaet Wien (Austria)
Franz Rendl, Universitaet Klagenfurt (Austria)
Celso Ribeiro, Puntifica Universidade Catolica do Rio de Janeiro
Ruben Ruiz, Polytechnic University of Valencia (Spain)
Wheeler Ruml, University of New Hampshire (USA)
Andrea Schaerf, University of Udine (Italy)
Marc Schoenauer, INRIA (France)
Meinolf Sellmann, Brown University (USA)
Bart Selman, Cornell University (USA)
Yaroslav D. Sergeyev, Universita della Calabria (Italy)
Marc Sevaux, University of South-Brittany (France)
Patrick Siarry, Universite Paris XII Val De Marne, Paris, (France)
Kate Smith-Miles, Deakin University (Australia)
Christine Solnon, Universite Lyon 1 (France)
Eric Taillard, University of Applied Sciences of Western Switzerland
Jose. Luis Verdegay, Universidad de Granada (Spain)
Stefan Voss, University of Hamburg (Germany)
Benjamin W. Wah, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (USA)
Jean-Paul Watson, Sandia National Laboratories (USA)
Darrell Whitley, Colorado State University (USA)
David Woodruff, University of California, Davis (USA)
Qingfu Zhang, University of Essex (UK)




Print Friendly, PDF & Email